Orlando DUI Attorney
Florida DUI Laws
If you have been charged with a DUI in the state of Florida, the law states that you will be subject to two cases. The first of these cases will be a court case to determine your liability. It is important that you be represented by an experienced Orlando DUI attorney during your court case to ensure the best possible outcome, whether that is a reduction of charge or an outright acquittal.
The second case is brought on behalf of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor vehicles. This case will determine the fate of your future as a motor vehicle operator. Improper representation could result having your license being suspended or revoked permanently. This process is too important to your case, and too complicated for the average person to try to handle on their own. So we highly advise seeking out an experienced and professional attorney like Amir Ladan to handle your case.
What Is a DUI?
According to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and Florida law, a DUI is a single offense, proven by unlawful blood or breath alcohol levels of .08 or more. Driving Under the Influence can also be proven by the impairment of normal faculties while operating a motor vehicle, or by a urine test. Regardless of the manner in which the it is proven, the penalties upon conviction are the same. If you have been accused, consult an attorney immediately to represent your case properly.
Many people believe that if they do not submit to a blood alcohol test, they cannot be convicted. The fact of the matter is, if you refuse to submit to a blood alcohol test, this is admissible as evidence in court. The laws in Florida state that refusing blood alcohol tests is a criminal charge.
Florida has implied consent laws—if you choose to drive on Florida roadways then you are implying that you will obey all traffic laws, and that you are required to submit to a blood or breath alcohol test at the request of a Florida police officer. Drunk driving is strictly prohibited, and depending on the number of offenses, as well as the severity of your blood alcohol level, your punishment can range anywhere from losing your license and paying a fine, up to 1 year or more in jail.
Refusing the test the first time will result in a one year suspension of your license. If you refuse a second time, during a second incident, then you will be subject to 18 months in jail.
What To Do If You Have Been Charged?
Being charged with a DUI in Orlando does not lead to an automatic conviction, but if you want to fight the charge you will need to act quickly. Under Florida law, you have only 10 days from the time you were arrested to request a hearing. You are only able to fight the charge if a hearing is held. It is critical that you hire an experienced DUI lawyer as soon as possible to take on your case. There are many law firms in Orlando that feature representation for this, and it is necessary that you do research to ensure that you find the right law firm for you. Having an experienced, qualified, attorney representing you can mean the difference between being convicted, and walking free.
There are many penalties for being convicted of a DUI offense. For your first, you can spend up to nine months in jail depending on your blood alcohol content. You will pay a fine from $500 to $2,000, and your license will be suspended for 180 days to one year.
An experienced attorney will fight to make sure you understand the potential ramifications of a first offense, as well as making sure you receive the best possible outcome for your charges.
A second DUI offense has more serious consequences than the first. This penalty can come with between nine to twelve months of jail time. In addition, you will see fines of up to $4,000 depending on the severity of the offense. As with a first offense, it is essential that you contact an experienced DUI lawyer to help you build a winning defense.
Your third DUI offense will be considered a felony. Along with this charge, you are likely to face up to one year of jail time in addition to a $5,000 fine. Like the other offenses, the decision to represent your defense through a skilled attorney is incredibly important, if not more important than ever. Do not seek to present your case without the aid of an experienced Orlando DUI attorney by your side.
If you are a DUI offender, contact our office today for a free consultation. With almost 20 years of legal experience and thousands of such cases to date, the attorneys at The Ladan Law Firm, P.A. are well-equipped to build you a strong defense in Orange, Seminole, Osceola, Volusia and Lake Counties, and in the federal court of the Middle District of Florida (Orlando).
Contact The Ladan Law Firm, P.A.
The Ladan Law Firm, P.A. has represented numerous drivers accused of DUI. Many less experienced attorneys or those choosing to represent themselves risk making mistakes that can result in dire consequences. Do no risk losing your license. Do not risk heavy fines or jail time. Put your case in the hands of the experienced attorneys at the Ladan Law Firm, P.A. We can ensure that your case is treated properly and to the best of our ability.
If you have been accused of a DUI offense, contact The Ladan Law Firm, P.A. online or call 407-487-2522 for a free initial confidential consultation and additional information on Florida DUI law penalties. Remember, you only have 10 days to act to prevent your driving privileges from being revoked. Contact us today.