Florida Motorcycle Laws
- July 22, 2016
- Posted by: Amir Ladan
- Category: Criminal Law Blog
Laws regarding motorcycles vary from state to state, and over time. It’s important to be up to date on the laws in your state, and the states you plan on traveling to in order to avoid tickets and other fines. The most apparent law that changes from state to state involving motorcycles is the helmet law. Other laws such as insurance coverage, passenger requirements, safety equipment, and noise limits also vary, but get less attention.
To start with, the law in Florida for helmets requires anyone under the age of 21 to wear a helmet, as well as protective eyewear. Riders above the age of 21 have the choice as to whether or not they would like to wear a helmet, but if they choose not to, they must carry a minimum of $10,000 worth of medical insurance. This same law currently applies for passengers. Although there are no current age restrictions for passengers of a motorcycle, anyone who is under the age of 21 and/or doesn’t carry at least $10,000 in medical insurance must have a helmet. Protective eye wear must be worn by all riders and passengers, unless the motorcycle has a windshield.
Insurance coverage for motorcycles in Florida can get to be a little tricky. As it is with a car, proof of insurance is not required upon purchase or registration of a motorcycle or moped in Florida. This is true unless you are financing through a bank, and that bank requires insurance of the vehicle. Anyone under the age of 21 must carry insurance on their motorcycle. For riders 21 years or older, insurance isn’t required, but is highly recommended. Laws change regularly, so always be sure to keep yourself up to date, and contact your lawyer or insurance agency if you are unsure about current insurance requirements.
One last law that often varies from state to state is lane splitting. Lane splitting is when a motorcycle uses a lane already occupied by a car or other vehicle to drive in or pass. As dangerous as this sounds, and naturally is, it is legal in some states. Florida is not one of them. You may only ride two motorcycles side by side per lane, no sharing lanes with cars or other 4+ wheeled vehicles.
As I mentioned before, laws are subject to change, and none of this information should be used as a basis of action as it may be outdated by the time it gets to you. Be sure to keep yourself updated on current laws, and abide them to prevent fines, license revocation and suspension, and in some cases even jail time.