Underage DUI in Florida – How you can avoid it?
- July 21, 2016
- Posted by: Amir Ladan
- Category: Uncategorized
The state of Florida has very strict laws when it comes to underage drinking and driving. If you are under the age of 21 a police officer can arrest you even if you have the slightest amount of alcohol on your breath. This is due to the fact that the state of Florida has a “zero tolerance” policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. In Florida an underage driver caught with a BAC of even .02% is likely to face DUI charges.
The state of Florida in an effort to minimize the amount of underage drunk driving has resorted to strict DUI laws and penalties. To the State Law machinery; the police officers, judges, and prosecutors, it doesn’t matter if you were just having a good time with your friends, and you just had one drink. For them your being in the driving seat after drinking, regardless of the quantity, can be good enough for a DUI charge.
Difference between Adult and Underage DUI
Most people may be aware of some common aspects of the DUI laws in Florida, but what most people do not realize is that the implications of Florida DUI laws differ in case of adults and underage people. So if you are under the age of 21 and faced with a possible DUI charge, you should be aware of what the Florida DUI law says about your right to drive after consuming alcohol and the associated consequences.
According to Florida DUI law if you are under 21 years of age and are found to have any detectable quantity of alcohol in your body while driving, the officer will take your driving license and issue a temporary permit that will allow you to drive for ten days. You are required to submit a written request for a hearing regarding the administrative suspension of your license or your license will be suspended for six months on a first offense and a year on subsequent offenses. If you are under 21 and your BAC is measured above .05 percent, you will be subject to more severe penalties including the requirement that you complete a substance abuse treatment course.
The underage people need to understand that the legal BAC limit of .08 (in case of adults) does not work for them, of course a BAC result of anything higher than .08 will have more grave consequences. The reason why most people of this age group may be more vulnerable to a DUI charge is the fact that most underage people may not consider getting behind the wheel after having consumed a small amount of alcohol a serious threat. But even one drink can leave the smell of alcohol on your breath, and you could easily get a DUI charge when you might really be far from impaired.
So if you are under the age of 21 and you have been arrested for a DUI in Florida, the best thing for you to do is find an experienced Florida criminal defense attorney you can trust in defending your legal rights. Don’t let a DUI conviction on your record jeopardize your driver’s license, your job, and your future.